Australian Women Writers Challenge 2013

With less than a week left of 2012, it’s time to set myself some reading challenges for next year. One I recently came across was the Australian Women Writers challenge, which “aims to support and promote writing by Australian women, and to help overcome the gender bias in literary review pages.” Oh yeah. I had to sign up for this.

There are three levels for the challenge, named after the Australian author and feminist Stella Miles Franklin: Stella, read 3 books, review at least 2; Miles, read 6 books, review at least 4; and Franklin, read 10 books, review at least 6. You can also set yourself a personal challenge, so I decided to set myself the goal of reading and reviewing one book a month for this challenge – should be easy, right? (I say that now…)

Here’s the list of books I’ve picked out to read next year:

01. Bay of Fires – Poppy Gee

02. Matilda is Missing – Caroline Overington

03. All That I Am – Anna Funder

04. The Convent – Maureen McCarthy

05. The Thorn Birds – Colleen McCullough

06. The Secret Keeper – Kate Morton

07. The Happiness Show – Catherine Deveny

08. Am I Black Enough For You? – Anita Heiss

09. Nine Days – Toni Jordan

10. The Mistake – Wendy James

11. Divine Clementine – Hayley S Kirk

12. Holier Than Thou – Laura Buzo

+ bonus: My Brilliant Career by Miles Franklin

Needless to say, I’m really excited about this challenge. Besides finishing a series or reading a set number of books, I’ve never quite had an actual goal in my reading before.

If you’d like more information about the challenge (go sign up!), visit the website or click through these links:

3 thoughts on “Australian Women Writers Challenge 2013

Leave a Reply

